June 6, 2011

2011 Clark Volleyball Schedule Announced

Worcester, Mass. – The fifth season of the Clark University resurrection plan under head coach Mickey Cahoon begins on Thursday, September 1 with a road meeting versus Mount Ida College.

The Cougars won 13 games a season ago and qualified for the NEWMAC Tournament for the third straight time following a stretch in the end of the season that saw them win eight of their final 11 contests.

2011 will see the Scarlet and White play four teams that advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 2010 and five others who won more than 20 matches a season ago.

Clark will open up the home portion of its schedule with a Tuesday, September 6 showdown against perennial Little East power Eastern Connecticut State, followed by the Worcester City Championships – an event the Cougars won last season behind most outstanding player Kortney Kelley (Barnstable, Mass.).

Clark wastes little time jumping into NEWMAC play as they host WPI on Tuesday, September 13 and then trek to Cambridge on Saturday, September 17 for the MIT tri-match, where they will face the host Engineers and Simmons College.

A road contest at rival Springfield on Tuesday, September 20 precedes a key out of conference matchup with Roger Williams - an NCAA Tournament team that won 29 matches a season ago.

The Cougars return to league play with a road battle against Babson then play a tri-match against Rhode Island College and Westfield State on Saturday, October 1 in Providence.

A home match against Mount Holyoke leads into a four-match road trip – including three against NESCAC schools – Connecticut College (Wednesday, October 5), Wesleyan (Saturday, October 8), Trinity (Saturday, October 8) before wrapping up the tour at Wheaton (Tuesday, October 11).

Clark returns home to host a tri-match of their own on Saturday, October 15 against Massachusetts-Maritime and Salve Regina before another extended road stretch.

A visit to Coast Guard (Tuesday, October 18) is followed by a tri-match with Keene State and UMass-Dartmouth – both teams that won more than 20 matches in 2010 – on Saturday, October 22.

The road trip ends with matches at Smith (Tuesday, October 25) and Western Connecticut State (Thursday, October 27).

Clark closes out the regular season portion of its schedule with a home contest against Wellesley – a team that knocked them off twice last season, including handing them a 3-0 setback in the NEWMAC quarterfinals.

The Cougars, coming off of their first winning season since 2001, the Scarlet and White have several key players back in 2011, including Amira Tranchell (Falmouth, Mass.), Kristin McGinty (Vail, Colo.), Rachel Spera (North Hollywood, Calif.) and Nichole Lopez (Alameda, Calif.).