Seven Named to NEWMAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

Seven Named to NEWMAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

Westwood, Mass.—The Clark University men's lacrosse team named seven student-athletes to the 2019 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams as announced by the league office on Thursday afternoon.

Senior goalkeeper Nathan Maselek (Marblehead, Mass.) was named the NEWMAC Co-Defensive Player of the Year and therefore earned an automatic spot on the All-Conference First Team. He was joined by seniors Brandon King (Eastham, Mass.), Jack Pierce (Westborough, Mass.), Pat Campbell (Duxbury, Mass.), and junior Bobby Philbin (Ridgefield, Conn.) on the First Team. Junior Chris Rasco (Huntington, N.Y.) and senior Sam Wogan (Freeport, Maine) were named to the NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team.

Maselek finished the 2019 season with the top save percentage in the conference at 60.7. He broke the Clark men's lacrosse program single-season saves record as he ranked second in the league with 236 saves on the season. Maselek posted double-digit saves in 12 games including a game-high 21 saves in the semifinal game at Coast Guard. He shares the Defensive Player of the Year title with Coast Guard goalkeeper, Trey Johnson.

King wrapped up the 2019 season with 39 goals in 15 games played to go along with eight assists for 47 points. His 39 goals helped him claim the Clark men's lacrosse program career goals record as he finished his four years with 136 total goals. King led the Cougars as a captain this year.

At midfield, Pierce put up 22 goals and 17 assists for a total of 39 points this season. Philbin finished the season with 21 goals and four assists for 25 points and went 199-for-266 in face-offs. He finished the year with the fourth best face-off winning percentage in NCAA Division III at .748. Campbell helped anchor a strong defensive line for the Cougars with 10 caused turnovers and 16 groundballs. With his leadership on the field the Cougars posted the third lowest goals against average in the conference (10.41).

Rasco led the Cougars and the NEWMAC in scoring with 56 goals to go along with four assists for a team-leading 60 points on the season. His 56 goals ranks him second in Clark men's lacrosse program history for goals in a season while his 60 points ranks him third in points in a season. Wogan wrapped up the season with 49 groundballs and three caused turnovers to goal along with nine points from five goals and four assists.

With seven of his players garnering NEWMAC All-Conference accolades, head coach, Jeff Cohen was named the NEWMAC Coach of the Year as Clark finished with a 5-2 conference record and 11-8 overall record. The Cougars defeated NEWMAC foe and 2019 NEWMAC Men's Lacrosse Champions, Springfield College, for the first time in program history with a 14-12 final at home on April 24th. Clark made a NEWMAC Tournament appearance this season, defeating Babson College 10-9 in the quarterfinal round and falling at Coast Guard, 12-11, in the semifinals.

Full Release: NEWMAC Releases 2019 Men's Lacrosse Postseason Honors