Clark Sixth At NEWMAC Championships

Clark Sixth At NEWMAC Championships

Worcester, Mass. – For the second year in a row, the Clark University Varsity Eight boat bested a boat they have never beaten before and the Cougars recorded a sixth place finish at the 2017 New England Women’s And Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) rowing championships on Saturday morning on Lake Quinsigamond.

The Cougars finished in sixth place in a time of 7:36.4, narrowly missing out on a fifth place showing as they were edged by Coast Guard (7:34.6).

Wellesley earned victories in the first, second and fourth varsity eight races to claim the program's seventh-consecutive conference title.

With the victory, defending the NCAA National Champion Blue earns the NEWMAC's automatic bid to the 2017 NCAA Division III Rowing Championships on Lake Mercer in West Windsor, N.J., where Blue Crew will make the program's eighth-straight trip to the national championships.

Wellesley also earned the Florence Jope Smith Cup, awarded annually to the school with the highest number of points from the overall results at the NEWMAC Championship. Wellesley, who has now won the overall points award for seven straight years, finished first with 36 points. The Blue were followed by WPI in second with 30 points. Smith College (20) was third, followed by Mount Holyoke College (14) in fourth, Simmons (12) in third, and Clark and Coast Guard (6). 

Wellesley senior Kathryn Barth (Bellevue, Wash.) was named the 2017 NEWMAC Rower of the Year, earning the award for the second time in her career (2015). Junior Stephanie Kim (Wellesley, Mass.) earned the 2017 NEWMAC Coxswain of the Year award for the third time in three career appearances at the NEWMAC Championships.

Clark senior Lydia Warters (Simsbury, Conn.) and sophomore Halley Glier (Shelburne, Mass.) earned second-team all-conference recognition for their efforts.

Meanwhile, Barth and Kim were joined on the NEWMAC All-Conference first team by Wellesley's Olivia Duggan (West Newbury, Mass.) and Ali Rondeau (Ocala, Fla.), as well as Olivia Shaw (Wayland, Mass.) and Nomfuneko Mafunda (Jwaneng, Botswana) of Smith, and Christine Hovermale (Alameda, Calif.), Kinsey McNamara (Chelmsford, Mass.) and Jasmine Loukola (Wells, Maine) of WPI. 

Joining Warters and Glier on the second team were Marissa Marsh (Vienna, Va.) and Alyssa Laystrom (Lake Zurich, Ill.) from Coast Guard, Azulina Green (Austin, Texas) and Ariya Lawson (Washington, D.C.) of Mount Holyoke and Alex Frongillo (Franklin, Mass.), Kate Krawczuk (Harrisburg, Pa.) from Simmons and WPI coxswain Madison Healy.