WXC: Cougars Finish 11th at NEWMAC Championships

WXC: Cougars Finish 11th at NEWMAC Championships

BOSTON, Mass. — Junior captain Meghan Davinroy (Louisville, Colo.) paced the Clark University women's cross country team at the 2019 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Championships on Sunday morning at Franklin Park as the Cougars put forth an 11th place finish.

Davinroy led the day for the Cougars as the junior battled through a tough hilly course to race toward a 72nd place finish out of 146 racers with her time of 25:35. Senior co-captain Nicolina Braccio (Nashua, N.H.) finished as the second-highest finisher for Clark University, coming in at 91st place with a mark of 26:11.

First-year Alexis Stone (Holden, Mass.) notched a 108th place finish in her first NEWMAC Championship meet with her time of 26:56 while sophomore Katherine Gross (Petaluma, Calif.) tripped the timer with a mark of 27:59 for a 122nd placement.

In the field, the third-ranked MIT women's cross country team had five runners finish in the top seven on the way to claiming its 12th straight crown at the NEWMAC Championship.

The Engineers totaled 19 points to finish well ahead of second-place Mount Holyoke College, which recorded its best finish in over a decade at the conference meet. Wellesley College came in third with 92 points, WPI was fourth with 116 points, and the Coast Guard Academy (141) edged Smith College by one point for fifth place.

Izzi Gengaro of MIT took first place with a time of 21:58 on the 6k course, finishing more than 20 seconds ahead of teammates Katie Bacher (22:19) and Katie Collins (22:27). Hannah Rieders and Madeline Rieders of Mount Holyoke crossed the finish line in 22:42 to grab four and fifth place, respectively.

Team Results

1. MIT – 19 points

2. Mount Holyoke – 80 points

3. Wellesley – 92 points

4. WPI – 116 points

5. Coast Guard – 141 points

6. Smith – 142 points

7. Wheaton – 182 points

8. Springfield – 195 points

9. Babson -217 points

10. Emerson – 328 points

11. Clark – 333 points


2019 NEWMAC Women's All-Conference Team

1. Izzi Gengaro, MIT (21:58); 2. Katie Bacher, MIT (22:19); 3. Katie Collins, MIT (22:27); 4. Hannah Rieders, Mount Holyoke (22:42); 5. Madeline Rieders, Mount Holyoke (22:42); 6. Einat Gavish, MIT (22:57); 7. Katie Williams, MIT (23:01); 8. Grace Cowles, Wellesley (23:05); 9. Marissa McPhillips, MIT (23:12); 10. Emma Cavanaugh, Babson (23:13); 11. Karena Garcia, Smith (23:14); 12. Keiko Hilmo, Wellesley (23:15); 13. Ari Rozen, WPI (23:18); 14. Alana Chandler, MIT (23:27); 15. April Chu, Wellesley (23:34); 16. Lauren Selkin, Mount Holyoke (23:35); Katherine Leckerbee, Wheaton (23:36)